Discover the History of Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
A hotel nestled in the Norfolk countryside with a story...
Knights Hill Hotel and Spa is situated 4 miles north of Kings Lynn.
The hotel began life as a group of farm buildings on a site known as “Lodge Farm” in 1588. Certainly the 1588 map of Rising Chase, which has a circumference of over 23 miles, marks the present building’s site as Rising Lodge and is in the Parish of Castle Rising. The Medieval Castle is open to the public.
It is possible that Knights Barn is one of the oldest buildings on site, being 16th century but as the roof had been replaced, this is really guess work.
The wing of the house is 17th century with the rest of the buildings being 18th and early 19th century.
The site is called Knights Hill after Frederick Knight and his family who lived here from approximately 1845 to a date not yet known. Frederick and his wife Margaret had nine children and it was Fernley who inherited the site after his father’s death in 1875 on August 19th at the age of 56.
In more recent times the farm was a Dairy/Pig unit which featured on an Anglian Television production in the 1960’s.
Sadly the site fell in to disuse and became derelict, and was put up for sale. When some local business men purchased the site, they developed it substantially and turned it into a complex of the size it is today. The first 9 bedrooms in the hotel were converted from the original Rising Lodge Farm House.
Knights Hill Hotel and Spa now consists of four areas of operation. The hotel accommodation with 79 bedrooms, the Garden Restaurant, The Farmers Arms Inn, Imagine Spa, Swimming Pool, and leisure club, and Knights Barn. Knights Barn is the largest of the buildings and is the conference, banqueting and exhibition centre.
The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Sandringham (5 minutes away) and the Norfolk Coast, as well as Norfolk Lavender, Houghton Hall, Oxburgh Hall, Holkham Hall and historic King’s Lynn.